Breakfast Dessert Gluten-Free Lunch Muffins 'n' Cupcakes Quickbread Sweet Sweet 'n' Savory

Flourless Chocolate Chip Zucchini Banana Muffins


Found: 
Running With Spoons
Donated: N/A
Librarian Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars – This is Darn Delicious!
Skill Level: 1 out of 5 – If you can measure, you can make it!

Growing up in a suburb of Chicago granted me the opportunity to see my family turn a portion of our acre lot into a vegetable garden. On warm summer days, I would pad down the sidewalk barefoot, watching my grandma poke through the tomatoes, as my grandfather mowed the lawn and my parents pulled zucchini off the stems.

We had a lot of zucchini each summer–and a few that got missed under the large leaves, left to keep growing until my grandfather would spot it, pick it, and proclaim it the best of the garden due to how big it was.

I love zucchini.

So when a new hire at work said she was gluten-free, I knew I could come up with something treat-like involving non-gluten flours and zucchini. I found this. And while I haven’t tasted this batch just yet… my house smells of an amazing combination of honey, oats, almonds and bananas. Two thumbs up for that and the good memories.

The Recipe

Download the recipe in PDF form here
Makes 12 muffins

1-1/2 cups rolled oats
2 tablespoons ground flaxseed
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
6 tablespoons almond butter
6 tablespoons honey (best measured when liquid—so heat it up!)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 medium-sized ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup shredded zucchini, squeezed of excess liquid (I put between paper towels and pressed hard)
2 handfuls, give or take, of your favorite chocolate or caramel chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stick cupcake papers in muffin pan. Set aside.

2. Combine oats, ground flaxseed, cinnamon, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in high-speed mixer or food processor. Process on high until oats have gained the consistency of flour (roughly 10 seconds).


3. Dump oat mixture in a bowl; add all remaining ingredients except for bananas and zucchini. Combine with hand mixer or stand mixer until smooth. Fold in chips, bananas and zucchini.


4. Spoon batter into the prepared muffin cups, filling each one ¾ of the way full. (I used a large cookie scoop and it was perfect).

5. Bake for 18-20 minutes (I needed 22), until the tops of your muffins begin to turn golden brown and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow muffins to cool completely before transferring to airtight container. Can store at room temperature for up to 5 days, or freeze for up to 3 months.

7 comments on “Flourless Chocolate Chip Zucchini Banana Muffins

  1. ohmygosh!! These look sooooo goood!!

    Like

  2. Yummy! These look delicious 🙂

    Like

    • It’s funny… I brought them to work for my team. Of the 6, 5 loved this recipe. One asked, “Do you want to know my real opinion?” And said they were too healthy and she threw it out. She’s also the person that brought Voodoo Donuts to work yesterday 😉

      I think they’re like a zucchini bread! Dense, moist…. yum! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

